Select Config >
Save Changes at the top right of the firewall or Panorama web interface to save a new snapshot file of the candidate configuration or to overwrite an existing configuration file. If the firewall or Panorama reboots before you commit your changes, you can then revert the candidate configuration to the saved snapshot to restore changes you made after the last commit. To revert to the snapshot, select
Device >
Setup >
Operations and
Load named configuration snapshot. If you don’t revert to the snapshot after a reboot, the candidate configuration will be the same as the last committed configuration (the running configuration).
You can filter which configuration changes to save based on administrator or location. The location can be specific virtual systems, shared policies and objects, or shared device and network settings.
|
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
Custom role—The privileges of the Admin Role profile assigned to your account determine the save scope (see Device > Admin Roles). If the profile includes the privilege to Save For Other Admins, the firewall saves changes configured by any and all administrators. If your Admin Role profile does not include the privilege to Save For Other Admins, the firewall saves only your changes and not those of other administrators.
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
Superuser role—You can limit the save scope to changes that specific administrators made and to changes in specific locations.
|
|
•
|
Custom role—The privileges of the Admin Role profile assigned to your account determine your filtering options (see Device > Admin Roles). If the profile includes the privilege to Save For Other Admins, you can limit the save scope to changes configured by specific administrators and to changes in specific locations. If your Admin Role profile does not include the privilege to Save For Other Admins, you can limit the save scope only to the changes you made in specific locations.
|
|
•
|
Filter by administrator—Even if your role allows saving the changes of other administrators, the save scope includes only your changes by default. To add other administrators to the save scope, click the <usernames> link, select the administrators, and click OK.
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
policy-and-objects—( Firewall only) Policy rules or objects that are defined on a firewall that does not have multiple virtual systems.
|
|
•
|
device-and-network—( Firewall only) Network and device settings that are global (such as Interface Management profiles) and not specific to a virtual system.
|
|
•
|
<virtual-system>—( Firewall only) The name of the virtual system in which policy rules or objects are defined on a firewall that has multiple virtual systems. This also includes network and device settings that are specific to a virtual system (such as zones).
|
|
•
|
<device-group>—( Panorama only) The name of the device group in which the policy rules or objects are defined.
|
|
•
|
<template>—( Panorama only) The name of the template or template stack in which the settings are defined.
|
|
•
|
<log-collector>—( Panorama only) The name of the Log Collector in which the settings are defined.
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
Virtual Systems—( Firewall only) Settings that are defined in a specific virtual system.
|
|
•
|
Device Groups—( Panorama only) Settings that are defined in a specific device group.
|
|
•
|
Templates—( Panorama only) Settings that are defined in a specific template or template stack.
|
|
•
|
Collector Groups—( Panorama only) Settings that are specific to a Collector Group configuration.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
Object Name—The name that identifies the policy, object, network setting, or device setting.
|
|
•
|
Type—The type of setting (such as Address, Security rule, or Zone).
|
|
•
|
Location Type—Indicates whether the setting is defined in Virtual Systems.
|
|
•
|
Location—The name of the virtual system where the setting is defined. The column displays Shared for settings that are not specific to a virtual system.
|
|
•
|
Operations—Indicates every operation (create, edit, or delete) performed on the setting since the last commit.
|
|
•
|
Owner—The administrator who made the last change to the setting.
|
|
•
|
Will Be Saved—Indicates whether the save operation will include the setting.
|
|
•
|
Previous Owners—Administrators who made changes to the setting before the last change.
|
|
|
|
|
•
|
If you selected Save All Changes, the firewall overwrites the default configuration snapshot file (.snapshot.xml).
|
|
•
|
If you selected Save Changes Made By, specify the Name of a new or existing configuration file, and click OK.
|
|